---
title: "107 Electrician Statistics: Pay, Businesses & Pricing"
description: "Dated electrical workforce, contractor business and homeowner pricing statistics. BLS, Census, Jobber and Modernize sources, charts and downloadable evidence."
source: "https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics"
---

# 107 Electrician Statistics: Pay, Businesses & Pricing

Compiled by Pricebookr. Published and sources checked September 25, 2026. 107 dated figures from 4 original publishers. [Download CSV](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/statistics.csv) · [Evidence ledger](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/evidence.json).

[Link to this section](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#pay)

## Electrician wages and pay distribution

BLS reports a $63,190 median annual wage for electricians in May 2025. The industry medians below describe workers in this occupation, not business revenue or customer billing rates.

United States; May 2025 OEWS; SOC 47-2111. Wage estimates exclude self-employed workers. Percentile thresholds are not starting or maximum salaries.

[![Electrician annual wage benchmarks. Exact values, dates and sources are in the following table.](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/pay.png)](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/pay.png)

BLS • May 2025 • SOC 47-2111 • annual wage estimates. [Download chart (PNG)](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/pay.png). Table below is the text alternative.

| Measure / group | Figure | Period / original source |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Electricians median [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#pay-median) | $63,190 | May 2025 [U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics](https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/electricians.htm) |
| Electricians 10th-percentile threshold [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#pay-p10) | $42,640 | May 2025 [U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics](https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/electricians.htm) |
| Electricians 90th-percentile threshold [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#pay-p90) | $108,510 | May 2025 [U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics](https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/electricians.htm) |
| Occupation median: Government (excluding education/hospitals) [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#pay-0) | $79,820 | May 2025 [U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics](https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/electricians.htm) |
| Occupation median: Manufacturing [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#pay-1) | $74,550 | May 2025 [U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics](https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/electricians.htm) |
| Occupation median: Electrical and other wiring contractors [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#pay-2) | $61,570 | May 2025 [U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics](https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/electricians.htm) |
| Occupation median: Employment services [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#pay-3) | $57,760 | May 2025 [U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics](https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/electricians.htm) |
| Construction trades workers median (comparison) [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#pay-construction) | $58,150 | May 2025 [U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics](https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/electricians.htm) |
| All occupations median (comparison) [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#pay-all) | $50,980 | May 2025 [U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics](https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/electricians.htm) |

[Link to this section](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#employment-outlook)

## Electrician employment and hiring outlook

BLS projects 9% growth for electricians from 2025 to 2035. Annual openings include workers changing occupations or leaving the labor force; they are not a count of currently unfilled positions.

United States; BLS Employment Projections. Forecasts are rounded and are not guarantees.

[![Projected occupational employment growth. Exact values, dates and sources are in the following table.](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/employment-outlook.png)](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/employment-outlook.png)

BLS • 2025–2035 projections • rounded percentages. [Download chart (PNG)](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/employment-outlook.png). Table below is the text alternative.

| Measure / group | Figure | Period / original source |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Electricians employment [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#outlook-jobs) | 821,000 jobs | 2025 [U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics](https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/electricians.htm) |
| Electricians projected employment [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#outlook-future) | 896,900 jobs | 2035 projection [U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics](https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/electricians.htm) |
| Electricians average annual openings [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#outlook-openings) | 72,700 openings per year | 2025–2035 projection [U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics](https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/electricians.htm) |
| Electricians projected growth [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#outlook-growth) | 9% | 2025–2035 projection [U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics](https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/electricians.htm) |
| Construction trades workers projected growth [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#outlook-construction) | 6% | 2025–2035 projection [U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics](https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/electricians.htm) |
| All occupations projected growth [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#outlook-all) | 3% | 2025–2035 projection [U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics](https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/electricians.htm) |

[Link to this section](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#employers)

## Where electricians work

The occupation spans several industries. These selected employer shares include self-employment, unlike the wage estimates above.

United States; electricians; 2025 employment shares. Selected industries do not sum to 100%.

[![Selected employers: employment shares. Exact values, dates and sources are in the following table.](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/employers.png)](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/employers.png)

BLS • 2025 • SOC 47-2111 • selected employer groups. [Download chart (PNG)](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/employers.png). Table below is the text alternative.

| Measure / group | Figure | Period / original source |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Electrical and other wiring contractors [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#employer-0) | 66% | 2025 [U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics](https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/electricians.htm) |
| Self-employed [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#employer-1) | 7% | 2025 [U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics](https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/electricians.htm) |
| Manufacturing [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#employer-2) | 6% | 2025 [U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics](https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/electricians.htm) |
| Government (excluding education/hospitals) [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#employer-3) | 3% | 2025 [U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics](https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/electricians.htm) |
| Employment services [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#employer-4) | 2% | 2025 [U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics](https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/electricians.htm) |

[Link to this section](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#industry-scale)

## How large is the electrical contracting industry?

The 2023 Census benchmark counts 83,342 paid-employee establishments in electrical contracting and other wiring installation across the United States. A business with several locations can have several establishments.

Paid-employee establishments in electrical contracting and other wiring installation (2017 NAICS 238210); all legal forms; all employee roles; excludes nonemployers. This industry includes commercial work as well as residential service.

| Measure / group | Figure | Period / original source |
| --- | --- | --- |
| U.S. contractor establishments [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#us-est) | 83,342 establishments | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23us.zip) |
| U.S. contractor industry employment [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#us-emp) | 1,015,983 employees | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23us.zip) |
| U.S. contractor industry annual payroll [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#us-ap) | $77,768,461,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23us.zip) |

[Link to this section](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-ap)

## Contractor annual payroll by state

Compare the size of contractor payrolls across all 50 states and DC. These are annual industry payroll totals, not average technician salaries or recommended wages.

Paid-employee establishments in electrical contracting and other wiring installation (2017 NAICS 238210); all legal forms; all employee roles; excludes nonemployers. Data year: 2023. Payroll disclosure-noise flags vary by state (G, H or J); see the evidence ledger.

[![Largest state payrolls. Exact values, dates and sources are in the following table.](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/state-ap.png)](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/state-ap.png)

Census CBP • 2023 • NAICS 238210 • top 10 states by annual payroll. [Download chart (PNG)](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/state-ap.png). Table below is the text alternative.

| Measure / group | Figure | Period / original source |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Alabama [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-01-ap) | $744,709,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Alaska [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-02-ap) | $178,267,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Arizona [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-04-ap) | $2,093,982,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Arkansas [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-05-ap) | $537,173,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| California [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-06-ap) | $10,665,499,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Colorado [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-08-ap) | $1,631,701,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Connecticut [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-09-ap) | $806,579,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Delaware [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-10-ap) | $263,887,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| District of Columbia [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-11-ap) | $82,764,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Florida [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-12-ap) | $4,282,870,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Georgia [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-13-ap) | $2,312,326,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Hawaii [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-15-ap) | $353,450,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Idaho [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-16-ap) | $412,827,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Illinois [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-17-ap) | $3,001,883,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Indiana [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-18-ap) | $1,363,066,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Iowa [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-19-ap) | $840,162,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Kansas [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-20-ap) | $645,541,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Kentucky [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-21-ap) | $741,209,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Louisiana [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-22-ap) | $1,241,324,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Maine [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-23-ap) | $248,034,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Maryland [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-24-ap) | $2,014,043,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Massachusetts [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-25-ap) | $2,452,498,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Michigan [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-26-ap) | $2,016,191,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Minnesota [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-27-ap) | $1,534,239,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Mississippi [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-28-ap) | $321,128,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Missouri [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-29-ap) | $1,445,614,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Montana [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-30-ap) | $267,518,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Nebraska [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-31-ap) | $567,983,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Nevada [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-32-ap) | $1,011,844,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| New Hampshire [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-33-ap) | $328,626,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| New Jersey [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-34-ap) | $2,079,903,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| New Mexico [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-35-ap) | $478,103,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| New York [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-36-ap) | $4,414,444,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| North Carolina [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-37-ap) | $1,947,407,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| North Dakota [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-38-ap) | $385,502,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Ohio [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-39-ap) | $2,299,202,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Oklahoma [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-40-ap) | $653,978,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Oregon [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-41-ap) | $1,452,427,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Pennsylvania [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-42-ap) | $2,527,855,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Rhode Island [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-44-ap) | $184,545,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| South Carolina [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-45-ap) | $571,964,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| South Dakota [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-46-ap) | $190,002,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Tennessee [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-47-ap) | $1,338,468,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Texas [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-48-ap) | $7,296,107,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Utah [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-49-ap) | $1,178,574,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Vermont [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-50-ap) | $127,709,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Virginia [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-51-ap) | $2,072,795,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Washington [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-53-ap) | $2,429,188,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| West Virginia [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-54-ap) | $208,689,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Wisconsin [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-55-ap) | $1,364,293,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |
| Wyoming [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#state-56-ap) | $160,369,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip) |

[Link to this section](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#business-size)

## Contractor payroll by establishment size

Size classes refer to employment at each establishment. They do not describe the employee count of an entire multi-location company.

Paid-employee establishments in electrical contracting and other wiring installation (2017 NAICS 238210); all legal forms; all employee roles; excludes nonemployers. National totals; 2023.

[![Industry payroll by size. Exact values, dates and sources are in the following table.](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/business-size.png)](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/business-size.png)

Census CBP • 2023 • NAICS 238210 • establishment employee bands. [Download chart (PNG)](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/business-size.png). Table below is the text alternative.

| Measure / group | Figure | Period / original source |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Fewer than 5 employees [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#size-under-5-a) | $4,714,055,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23us.zip) |
| 5–9 employees [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#size-5_9-a) | $5,685,638,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23us.zip) |
| 10–19 employees [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#size-10_19-a) | $8,147,519,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23us.zip) |
| 20–49 employees [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#size-20_49-a) | $13,725,035,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23us.zip) |
| 50–99 employees [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#size-50_99-a) | $11,822,954,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23us.zip) |
| 100–249 employees [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#size-100_249-a) | $14,270,569,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23us.zip) |
| 250–499 employees [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#size-250_499-a) | $7,139,604,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23us.zip) |
| 500–999 employees [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#size-500_999-a) | $6,287,532,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23us.zip) |
| 1,000+ employees [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#size-1000-a) | $5,975,555,000 | 2023 [U.S. Census Bureau (ZIP)](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23us.zip) |

[Link to this section](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#price-changes)

## Electrical price increases and home-service comparisons

In Jobber’s December 2025 survey, 74% of electrical business owners said they raised prices in the preceding year. The other rows compare broader home-service groups, not only this trade.

December 2025; U.S. owner survey; n=1,050 overall. Subgroup sizes unspecified. Price-change question refers to the preceding year.

[![Owners reporting a price increase. Exact values, dates and sources are in the following table.](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/price-changes.png)](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/price-changes.png)

Jobber • Dec 2025 • prior-year price increases • subgroup samples undisclosed. [Download chart (PNG)](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/price-changes.png). Table below is the text alternative.

| Measure / group | Figure | Period / original source |
| --- | --- | --- |
| All businesses [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#increase-all) | 65% | Dec 2025 survey [Jobber](https://www.getjobber.com/home-service-trends-report/) |
| Electrical businesses [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#increase-trade) | 74% | Dec 2025 survey [Jobber](https://www.getjobber.com/home-service-trends-report/) |
| $500K+ revenue [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#increase-large) | 80% | Dec 2025 survey [Jobber](https://www.getjobber.com/home-service-trends-report/) |
| Under $100K revenue [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#increase-small) | 54% | Dec 2025 survey [Jobber](https://www.getjobber.com/home-service-trends-report/) |
| New businesses [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#increase-new) | 42% | Dec 2025 survey [Jobber](https://www.getjobber.com/home-service-trends-report/) |

[Link to this section](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#pricing-confidence)

## How confident are owners in their pricing?

Confidence is a self-assessment. It does not show that a price covers labor burden, overhead, callbacks or profit.

Jobber owner survey; December 2025; n=1,050 overall. Displayed percentages total 99% because of rounding. Broad home-service/home-improvement sample; not electrical-specific.

[![Self-reported pricing confidence. Exact values, dates and sources are in the following table.](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/pricing-confidence.png)](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/pricing-confidence.png)

Jobber • Dec 2025 • share of surveyed owners. [Download chart (PNG)](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/pricing-confidence.png). Table below is the text alternative.

| Measure / group | Figure | Period / original source |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Very confident [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#confidence-very) | 55% | Dec 2025 survey [Jobber](https://www.getjobber.com/home-service-trends-report/) |
| Somewhat confident [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#confidence-somewhat) | 39% | Dec 2025 survey [Jobber](https://www.getjobber.com/home-service-trends-report/) |
| Not very confident [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#confidence-not) | 5% | Dec 2025 survey [Jobber](https://www.getjobber.com/home-service-trends-report/) |

[Link to this section](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#quote-shopping)

## How many quotes do homeowners compare?

Two quotes was the most common answer in this Modernize question. These are intended comparisons for an upcoming project, not a measured close rate.

Homeowners answering how many contractors’ quotes they will compare. Modernize 2025 report; n=10,353 for this question. Fieldwork: July–October 2025. Broad home-service/home-improvement sample; not electrical-specific.

[![How many quotes do homeowners compare?. Exact values, dates and sources are in the following table.](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/quote-shopping.png)](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/quote-shopping.png)

Modernize • July–October 2025 • question n=10,353. [Download chart (PNG)](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/quote-shopping.png). Table below is the text alternative.

| Measure / group | Figure | Period / original source |
| --- | --- | --- |
| One quote [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#quote-shopping-one) | 18.9% | Jul–Oct 2025 [Modernize](https://modernize.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Homeowner-Insights-Report-2025.pdf#page=25) |
| Two quotes [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#quote-shopping-two) | 40.96% | Jul–Oct 2025 [Modernize](https://modernize.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Homeowner-Insights-Report-2025.pdf#page=25) |
| Three quotes [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#quote-shopping-three) | 25.72% | Jul–Oct 2025 [Modernize](https://modernize.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Homeowner-Insights-Report-2025.pdf#page=25) |
| Four or more quotes [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#quote-shopping-four) | 14.41% | Jul–Oct 2025 [Modernize](https://modernize.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Homeowner-Insights-Report-2025.pdf#page=25) |

[Link to this section](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#financing)

## How much of a project would homeowners finance?

Respondents selected how much of an upcoming project they would want to finance if financing were available. These responses are preferences, not loan approvals or borrowing outcomes.

Homeowners answering a hypothetical project-financing question. Modernize 2025 report; n=12,269 for this question. Fieldwork: July–October 2025. Broad home-service/home-improvement sample; not electrical-specific.

[![How much of a project would homeowners finance?. Exact values, dates and sources are in the following table.](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/financing.png)](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/financing.png)

Modernize • July–October 2025 • question n=12,269. [Download chart (PNG)](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/financing.png). Table below is the text alternative.

| Measure / group | Figure | Period / original source |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Up to 25% of project [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#financing-quarter) | 23.59% | Jul–Oct 2025 [Modernize](https://modernize.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Homeowner-Insights-Report-2025.pdf#page=23) |
| Up to 50% of project [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#financing-half) | 31.68% | Jul–Oct 2025 [Modernize](https://modernize.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Homeowner-Insights-Report-2025.pdf#page=23) |
| Up to 75% of project [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#financing-three-quarter) | 3.28% | Jul–Oct 2025 [Modernize](https://modernize.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Homeowner-Insights-Report-2025.pdf#page=23) |
| Entire project [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#financing-all) | 18.77% | Jul–Oct 2025 [Modernize](https://modernize.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Homeowner-Insights-Report-2025.pdf#page=23) |
| None of project [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#financing-none) | 22.68% | Jul–Oct 2025 [Modernize](https://modernize.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Homeowner-Insights-Report-2025.pdf#page=23) |

[Link to this section](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#quote-friction)

## What discourages homeowners from hiring?

These selected responses identify friction in a contractor’s sales process. Respondents could choose multiple answers; the results cannot be added into a rejection rate.

Homeowners selecting sales attributes that make them least likely to hire. Modernize 2025 report; n=8,258 for this question. Fieldwork: July–October 2025. Broad home-service/home-improvement sample; not electrical-specific.

[![What discourages homeowners from hiring?. Exact values, dates and sources are in the following table.](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/quote-friction.png)](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/quote-friction.png)

Modernize • July–October 2025 • question n=8,258 • multiple selections. [Download chart (PNG)](https://www.pricebookr.com/assets/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics/quote-friction.png). Table below is the text alternative.

| Measure / group | Figure | Period / original source |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Sales pressure [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#quote-friction-pushy) | 37.9% | Jul–Oct 2025 [Modernize](https://modernize.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Homeowner-Insights-Report-2025.pdf#page=14) |
| Unclear quote [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#quote-friction-confusing) | 32.6% | Jul–Oct 2025 [Modernize](https://modernize.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Homeowner-Insights-Report-2025.pdf#page=14) |
| Needs not addressed [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#quote-friction-listening) | 31.4% | Jul–Oct 2025 [Modernize](https://modernize.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Homeowner-Insights-Report-2025.pdf#page=14) |
| Unprofessional conduct [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#quote-friction-professionalism) | 30.4% | Jul–Oct 2025 [Modernize](https://modernize.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Homeowner-Insights-Report-2025.pdf#page=14) |
| Missing completion timeline [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#quote-friction-timeline) | 28.9% | Jul–Oct 2025 [Modernize](https://modernize.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Homeowner-Insights-Report-2025.pdf#page=14) |
| Communication gap [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#quote-friction-communication) | 25.4% | Jul–Oct 2025 [Modernize](https://modernize.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Homeowner-Insights-Report-2025.pdf#page=14) |

[Link to this section](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#buyer-priorities)

## What do recent homebuyers want before hiring?

A written price can help a homeowner understand the proposed work. The finding below concerns expressed priorities in a survey, not the effect of any quoting software.

U.S. recent single-family homebuyers; Jobber-commissioned survey; May 2026; n=800, with equal generation groups. Broad home-service/home-improvement sample; not electrical-specific.

| Measure / group | Figure | Period / original source |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Upfront pricing / written estimate: top priority [#](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics#buyer-pricing) | 42% | May 2026 [Jobber](https://www.getjobber.com/recent-homebuyer-report/) |

## Methodology and source notes

This is a curated reference compiled by Pricebookr. The organizations below collected or published the underlying data. Pricebookr has not conducted a new industry survey. Each distinct measure, population and period counts once; charts and headline cards repeat existing entries.

**Industry boundaries matter.** Census NAICS 238210 covers electrical contracting and other wiring installation, including commercial work and all employee roles. It includes other wiring installation contractors; these are not counts of licensed electricians. BLS occupation 47-2111 covers electricians across industries. An establishment is a business location, not necessarily an independent company.

**Payroll is not labor burden.** Census payroll is converted from thousands of dollars to dollars by multiplying by 1,000. It is not revenue, an hourly service rate or a technician wage estimate. Payroll estimates have Census disclosure noise: G is less than 2%, H is 2% to less than 5%, and J is 5% or more. Row-specific flags are retained in the evidence ledger. No suppressed value is treated as zero. See the [2023 release](https://www.census.gov/data/datasets/2023/econ/cbp/2023-cbp.html) and [field definitions](https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/technical-documentation/record-layouts.html).

**Survey limits.** Owner and homeowner responses describe the stated samples. Subgroup results are not population forecasts. Multiple-choice percentages and rounded figures may not sum to 100. Modernize collected its 2025 responses during July–October; a country breakdown is not disclosed in the report. The Census tables are explicitly the 2023 vintage, not 2026 measurements.

1. [**U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Electricians: Occupational Outlook Handbook**](https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/electricians.htm)Published or updated: 2026-08-27. Checked: 2026-09-25.OEWS wages (May 2025) and Employment Projections (2025–2035). Wage estimates exclude self-employed workers; projections include them. Openings include replacement needs.
2. [**U.S. Census Bureau — 2023 County Business Patterns: United States**](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23us.zip)Published or updated: 2025-06-26. Checked: 2026-09-25.Paid-employee establishments in electrical contracting and other wiring installation (2017 NAICS 238210); all legal forms; all employee roles; excludes nonemployers. Employment is mid-March. Payroll is annual, reported in thousands of dollars. Disclosure noise applies.
3. [**U.S. Census Bureau — 2023 County Business Patterns: states and DC**](https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp/datasets/2023/cbp23st.zip)Published or updated: 2025-06-26. Checked: 2026-09-25.Paid-employee establishments in electrical contracting and other wiring installation (2017 NAICS 238210); all legal forms; all employee roles; excludes nonemployers. Employment is mid-March. Payroll is annual, reported in thousands of dollars. Disclosure noise applies.
4. [**Jobber — 2026 Home Service Trends Report**](https://www.getjobber.com/home-service-trends-report/)Published or updated: 2026 report; day not stated. Checked: 2026-09-25.Conjointly surveyed 1,050 U.S. home-service owners in December 2025. Self-reports; subgroup sample sizes unspecified.
5. [**Jobber — Recent Homebuyer Reality Check**](https://www.getjobber.com/recent-homebuyer-report/)Published or updated: 2026 report; day not stated. Checked: 2026-09-25.Coleman Parkes, May 2026: 800 U.S. single-family homebuyers from the preceding two years, equally split across four generations.
6. [**Modernize — 2025 Homeowner Insights Report**](https://modernize.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Homeowner-Insights-Report-2025.pdf)Published or updated: 2025 report; day not stated. Checked: 2026-09-25.Home-improvement audience surveyed July–October 2025 (PDF page 4). Each question has its own response count; probability sampling and country breakdown are not disclosed.

Original sources were inspected during compilation. Government ZIP files and the Modernize PDF were preserved for verification; automated access to some publisher URLs can be blocked. Retrieval notes in the evidence ledger distinguish successful downloads from later blocked rechecks. The evidence ledger includes table or page locations and retrieval notes. Next editorial review is targeted for December 15, 2026; the check date changes only after a fresh source review.

## How to cite these statistics

Keep the data year, population and original publisher with the figure. Link to the original source for its finding and to the relevant section here for the compiled comparison.

Pricebookr. *107 Electrician Statistics: Pay, Businesses & Pricing*. September 25, 2026.

[https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/electrical-contractor-statistics)

### Using the numbers in a pricebook

Industry figures are context for a review. Build prices from your shop’s own costs, overhead and target margin. See [markup schedules](https://www.pricebookr.com/docs/markup-schedules) and the [margin and markup calculator](https://www.pricebookr.com/tools/margin-markup-calculator).

### Keep pricing rules in one place

Pricebookr applies markup rules across your catalog and supports multiple pricebooks.

[See Pricebookr for electrical shops →](https://www.pricebookr.com/for/electrical)

### More trade statistics

- [HVAC statistics](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/hvac-contractor-statistics)
- [Plumbing statistics](https://www.pricebookr.com/statistics/plumbing-contractor-statistics)
